Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

Old biker, new to Yamaha

3K views 24 replies 11 participants last post by  Myvalk 
#1 ·
Hi all. I’ve been riding for 52 years, almost always Honda’s. Had a Yamaha on / off road years ago and a few Suzuki crotch rockets. I have a Honda Valkyrie Interstate now but want a cruiser. My sister had a V-Star 1100, and I liked it. I AM NOT going to pay what Harley wants for their bikes. So I’ll be scanning these pages for information on Yamaha cruisers. So any input is welcome.

#2 · (Edited)
#3 ·
Welcome from Houston Texas. The Vstar 1100 is a great bike. Only a few things to watch out with the 1100, starter clutch and axle spine nut are the top 2. Other than that, great all around bikes. So pull up a chair and read away. Keep us informed on your search. Here's a few interesting threads to check out when you get a chance.

https://www.starbikeforums.com/forums/7-starbikeforums-bike-month/

https://www.starbikeforums.com/forums/49-v-star/5655-yammy-ya-got.html?highlight=Yammy

https://www.starbikeforums.com/forums/36-lounge/110258-where-you.html

https://www.starbikeforums.com/forums/11-general-bike-talk/25113-how-experienced-you.html

https://www.starbikeforums.com/forums/36-lounge/113714-how-mature-you.html

For a first time 1100 owner here is some great info.

https://sites.google.com/site/vstar1100kb/home/new-owner-must-do-list

#4 ·
Welcome from Atlantic Canada. I agree with what the others have said, and having an 1100 I can say they are indeed a nice bike. Other than the issues Les mentioned they're pretty much bulletproof and if you make sure the spline nut can't come loose and use the proper starting technique (no throttle) you'll get lots of life out of the starter clutch. I believe they corrected that issue around 04 with a more heavy duty setup - someone correct me if I'm wrong.

#6 ·