New Member From Kentucky - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 10Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-19-2018, 11:54 PM Thread Starter

Garage
New Member From Kentucky

Turned 55 this year and decided I wanted to learn to ride so I purchased a 2004 V Star 650 in great cosmetic condition but didn't run. One Clymer Manual and a few Youtube videos later and now I think I'm a mechanic

My wife just shakes her head.

https://imgur.com/a/xE6NmUs
Keith Post likes this.

Since I got a bike, I feel much better.

Last edited by tbzg; 10-20-2018 at 12:10 AM. Reason: adding photo
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-20-2018, 04:03 AM

Welcome, I hope you enjoy the 650, it's an awesome bike.
Keith Post likes this.
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-20-2018, 05:46 AM
KCW

Garage
if you got an older bike and it sat for a while in someone's garage un-used, odds are the fuel went bad and turned into jello in the carbs, or they left the tank empty and it rusted up inside, and now there is rust in the fuel filter, or it made its way into the carbs.

Do you have the bike running now?

When I was 55 and decided I wanted to learn to ride I purchased a 2005 V Star 650 in great condition from the original owner, with only 9k miles on it. 32 k added miles and 6 years later I still have it

<- photos in garage

and I got a second 1300 V4 royal star just last month for longer road trips.

Best advice I can give: take the MSF beginners course to get your license. The $250 cost will pay for itself the first time you dont wreck your bike and your self.
Keith Post likes this.

Last edited by KCW; 10-20-2018 at 06:00 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-20-2018, 06:08 AM Thread Starter

Garage