just bought v star 650 - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 13Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-14-2019, 06:48 AM Thread Starter

just bought v star 650

the thing is abused, but the price was right...200.00. tank is dented, handlebar slightly bent, tires worn etc...just started to take it apart yesterday. I really do not have experience, but not a complete noob with mech. skills. probably will be asking for advice if I can't find info in a search. I always wanted a bobber, so this is my chance. It does run good for a bike with 54,000. I bought it as a learning project so I guess I'll see how I do. Better on this bike than something more expensive.
Keith Post and KCW like this.

drawing a blank
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-14-2019, 07:32 AM

Garage
Welcome to the forum from East Tennessee. Any pics you’d like to share with us? We love pics here and it sounds like a great project.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-14-2019, 07:52 AM

Welcome from Sacramento, Ca.
Keith Post and starmeister like this.

Riding is not just what I do but who I am.

Cherry 2007 650 Classic
The Strat 2010 Stratoliner Deluxe
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-14-2019, 07:52 AM

Garage
Welcome from Atlantic Canada. Lots of helpful and knowledgeable people here so you came to the right place. Sounds like a great deal for a project bike. The 650 (like all VStars) is a very solid and reliable bike. The engines are pretty much bullet proof as long as basic maintenance has been done, so you have a good starting platform. And 54,000 is nothing - plenty of miles left in her.

I'm with Keith - how about some before and then some after pics once you get it up and running again?
Keith Post likes this.

Paul
2007 Vulcan Nomad
V&H exhaust

2000 V Star 1100 Classic (Sold)
All stock except for:
Kuryakyn Grips
4" Risers