Rectifier Issues - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 23Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 07:18 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Cool Rectifier Issues

Hello Everyone!
Newbie here from Providence, Rhode Island. How you doin?
Signed up here hoping to establish new friends (Anyone local or close to me?) and possibly find a solution to my issue as well.
I have a 2002 XVS 1100 Custom which I bought brand new. It currently has about 13000 miles. About 4.5 yrs ago it wasn't charging and a shop put in a stator. Then about 16 months ago the symptoms of just shutting off began ( It would always start right back up tho' ) preceded by a sort of click like a circuit breaker noise. Testing pointed to a bad rectifier and so that was changed. Went a few months of light riding and then it wouldn't start, battery totally dead. Put new battery to get it to a shop. Again the rectifier was blown. Replaced that again and was fine for about 600 miles. Went to start it, the battery was fried , literally wavy. It sits now in a shop where I can use tools, etc. I got it there and revved to about 3500RPM volts climbing past 17. So once again a fried rectifier. We are gonna test the stator in a few days. If no problem with stator, what else can it be? I need to get this fixed so I can use it without breaking down or paying extensive yamaha dealer fees. Thanks in advance and have a bad ass day!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P071615_1659.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	98.1 KB
ID:	83458  
Keith Post likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 07:35 PM

https://sites.google.com/site/vstar1...harging-system you've sure had a problem with the rectifier,read this , its what info there is thats available. i sure there are plenty of forum members that can answer questions about the charging system.
Keith Post and DragonRI like this.