SETX newbie. 16yr old Barn Find - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 70Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-11-2019, 07:37 AM Thread Starter

SETX newbie. 16yr old Barn Find

Hello from South East Texas.
I am new to the forum, and new to bikes as well.
Recently I was asked by a co-worker if I could get a bike running. I have zero experience with bikes, but I figured; Air/Fuel/Fire, how hard can it be?
What I found was an all original 2003 650 V-Star Classic with 338 miles that had been sitting for 16 years.
I did get it running after about 2 hours, although it takes about 15 starts and stalls before it will just sit and idle. The choke has zero effect, so there is an issue there I'm sure.
But, it is a pretty bike, and the person asked me if I wanted to buy it for approximately half of the book value. Sold! I rode it home that night. It almost took me longer to figure how to shift (gear pattern I guess you would say) than it did to get it running.
Top speed in top gear with WOT is 56mph. 45mph in 4th gear going up a bridge. I'm pretty sure this bike can go a little bit faster than that, so it looks like I have some tuning to do. When I got it home, I noticed that one exhaust sounded louder than the other. I can place my hand over the top exhaust pipe with almost no change in engine speed, and the bottom exhaust has enough pressure that I can't get close to it.
I look forward to learning from the group, both on how to fix these beautiful machines up, and how to make them look even better than they do.
Thank you for reading, and please feel free to offer any tips/tricks/advice on how to get this baby purring.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0501.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	95.6 KB
ID:	83822  
Keith Post and graybeard like this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-11-2019, 07:50 AM

Garage
Welcome to the forum from East Tennessee Ernie.