Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

newbie here - break-in 2002 V-star 650 with 159 original miles

5K views 18 replies 13 participants last post by  VmanCA1 
#1 ·
Hello,
First timer on this forum. Today, I just bought a 2002 V-star 650 with only 159 original miles for $2,500. Yes, a 17 year old bike with only 159 miles, insane! NEW MINT condition (see photos). The original owner bought it new in 2002, and apparently got scared of riding it (which I could believe if he was a rookie and tried to navigate our freeways in CA with all the crazy drivers). He kept up the registration for 15 years, but died from a heart attack in 2018. I bought it from his wife who only knew that he kept it in the garage safely stored away in Sacramento, CA. About a month ago, apparently a neighbor drained the gas and put fresh gas and a new battery in it. The neighbor then started it and rode it around the block. Then the lady put it up for sale, and I jumped on it.

Comments/questions:
When I went to buy the bike, it started right up. I let it warm up and then drove around the block. Then bought it. Yes, I know, I should have taken it out on the highway. So after paying her, I drive it about 12 miles (on side streets and freeway) home. It ran just fine, except out on the freeway it seemed to struggle once in 4th and 5th gear. What I mean by struggle is, it took full throttle in 5th gear a bit just to get up to 60-65 mph. I did not hold it at full throttle, i just reached full throttle, then backed off then full again. Guess I was an idiot and forgot it was still in break-in period...plus the bike I just sold was a 750 Magna that had lots of power...no excuse for being an idiot though...