Hello, looking for some help - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-08-2013, 01:28 PM Thread Starter

Hello, looking for some help

Hello to all. Name is Aaron from still freezing Gaylord Michigan, current temp is a lovely 38f.... Great spring so far bleck.. anyway, long story short I am a big guy 6'2'' and well a big guy haha. Im looking at buying a 2007 vstar 1300 tourer. Heres my worry though. The bike is over 2 hours away, and my local dealership has none in stock so I cant really test it. Its pretty much drive to get the bike or go 4 hours for nothing. I only worry because I have a really bad back. Multiple herniated disc and arthritic disc's to boot, so although I still have good strength I worry about the weight of the 1300. I have been riding my little kawasaki 500 for many years now, but it is atleast 200 pounds lighter. I have no problems at all manuvering that bike around and would have no issue if it tipped. My concern is the extra 200 pounds. As far as the bike is concerned those out there that have them that are maybe smaller guys or any others out there with thoughts about this to help settle my mind would be much appreciated. I just worry if I should go with a smaller version of the v star. But like i said Im a big guy, which basically am the size of people goin two up you know. My 500 kaw has no problem moving my fat butt, but I cant get a backrest for drivers seat on my 500 so thats kinda my main reason for going for a bigger v star, I can hopefully extend trips from 20-30 miles to hour or two long trips if I do highway pegs, drivers backrest and oh.., I guess if I havent aggrevated you enough, I have heard there is a great debate on seats on here, but whats the big gripe about the stock 1300 seat? lastly, what is the best/most adjustable/most affordable drivers backrest for the 1300? To all that read this, thanks so much for your time and considerat