Newbie here - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-12-2010, 11:08 AM Thread Starter

Cool Newbie here

Hi! I'm from Houston area and have a Yamaha '03 V-Star 1100 classic. Had about 6 mos, did my courses, passed my DPS and ride ok, EXCEPT: I keep stalling out when I need to turn, after a full stop. I ride through my neighborhood, and it just chaps my hide (better than the bike chapping my hide) but can I get some advice on how to start out from a dead stop without stalling? especially while turning? Thanks

Lou, yep, im a newbie 'Lady Rider'
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-12-2010, 05:19 PM

Congradulations

Lou,

Congratulations on the course and the bike. After a while you will not even think about the stalling thing. In the mean time maybe give it just a little more gas and let the engine rev just a little more before you start letting the clutch out. When you feel the clutch starting to take hold slow the rate you release it. At really low RPM the two cylinder V twin engine can stall easy. At first you may tend to over do that also but you will find a happy medium.

I saw a vidio where the instructor backed his bike againsed the curb in a spot where there was just a slight slope toward the curb. He then practiced letting the clutch out, finding the "friction point" When the bike moved just a little he let it drift back against the curb and started over. Getting a feel for the clutch and gas. Some things we are not born with we learn as we go.

Dave
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-12-2010, 06:05 PM