Hello From Oklahoma - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 08:45 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Hello From Oklahoma

Hello everyone! I joined the forum today because I'm looking at purchasing my first brand new motorcycle. I've been riding for 13 years and learned on a 1988 Honda Hurricane. I bought a 2007 Kawasaki ZZR600 used in 07, and taught my wife how to ride as well. After taking an 800 mile road trip on the ZZR, I'm come to the conclusion that it's time to get a cruiser. I'm 28 years old and had plenty of fun on the crotch rockets, but I'd rather be comfortable than go fast. I ride year round and have roughly 19,000 miles on the 2007 sportbike. After going to the HD dealer in Joplin Missouri, I found I could get a much better deal on a metric bike (roughly half the price) with a lot more extras on it. So after reading tons of reviews and sitting on well over a dozen bikes I came across this 2012 V Star 950 Tourer. I got the dealer to throw in free passenger boards, and cut the price of the best mustang seat you can buy. I found out that insurance is a lot easier to come by now that I'm over 25 and married With the approval of my S.O. and with the promise that the Kawasaki would stay in the driveway, I now have the option of buying the V Star brand spanking new. Any thoughts, suggestions, or comments would be much appreciated. You have less than 24 hours to speak your mind
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 09:50 PM
Super Moderator

howdy. the 950 is the best bike you can choose. just ask me

on a steel horse I ride
i create motorcycle videos. check them out here

post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 10:37 PM

Hello from St. Louis!

Glad to hear Joplin is recovering nicely from last year's tornado. You certainly can't go wrong with the 950 (though I'm a fan of used over new for even more savings).