New to the star...help appreciated. - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-16-2010, 04:40 PM Thread Starter

New to the star...help appreciated.

Hey guys,

I started riding last July - got an 883 Sportster for my first bike. It was a great bike to learn on, but wasn't long before I felt like I was on a girl's bike (no offense, ladies). So, just sold the Sporty, looking to upgrade to a real cruiser in the next couple of weeks.

I've been looking at Vulcans and VTX's. Then today I went to the local Yamaha dealer and sat on a "new" '07 Vstar 1300 and a "new" '08 Roadliner. The weight distribution is sooo much better in the Yamahas. Both bikes felt as light as my little old Sporty despite being 2-300 lbs heavier. Whereas the VTX and the Vulcan required some muscle just to pull them off the kickstand.

So, point of the story is, I think I've decided on a roadliner or a 1300, any tips-advice? My primary use of the bike is going to be touring. My old man rides a honda st1300 and we've got big plans to go all over the country once I get a real bike. The bikes seemed really similar to me in person. Thanks, Tom
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-16-2010, 07:40 PM

Just me, but if you plan on makin the long runs, go the Liner route, I run an 1100 and run long runs, but a lots of folks ain't comphy that small. The Liners are a class act for sure. Yamaha is a great choise. Good luck with what you decide, have fun, ride safe.

Ride Safe, Live Long
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-16-2010, 09:02 PM

Liner / 1300

My opinion you will be happy with either bike. Lots of happy owners of V Star 1300's out there.