New Member - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-04-2013, 09:00 PM Thread Starter

I have been riding for over 40 years, and usually on old BMWs. 2 months ago I just sold my newest bike, a 1981 BMW R100RT. Then tried to figure out what to get to replace it.

I was tired of the old school stuff and wanted to get into the 21st century. Eventually decided on a 2005 VStar 650 Classic. I know, people have already told me it is too small or underpowered. But I really don't think so. It fits me fine and I have already had it up to 140KPH, which is fast enough for me. It is comfortable and seems to work just fine. I like the stock pipes, as they are fairly quiet, but can give a nice throaty growl. You have to remember I come from riding very quiet Beemers, so the throaty growl is much more than what I am used to. I don't like loud pipes.

So far I have found some very good and interesting information on the forum and look forward to conversing with some of you.

I reside in Qualicum Beach, BC. Maybe some of you are near by.

Dave
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-04-2013, 09:30 PM

Garage
Welcome to the forum Dave. It's not the size that matters, it's the smile it puts on your face, right? You should post pics of this new ride so you don't get harrassed by the pic police. They can get a bit antsy and if you post before midnight tomorrow you can win 10 pounds of smoked atlantic salmon. With the stable you had over the years, you must have a story or two you could share with us, rides you went on and road side fixes we could all benefit from.

Ride safe and keep it shiny side up.

2009 Stratoliner S

A few things added and more stuff to follow

https://sites.google.com/site/vstar1100kb/
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-04-2013, 10:48 PM Thread Starter