New Member, Old Rider - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-27-2014, 05:52 AM Thread Starter

New Member, Old Rider

I have been riding for 50 years and have had Yamaha's since 1967. I currently have a V Star 1100 with a Voyager Kit that I call my 14" training wheels. I have bone issues caused by cancer, but it keeps my "in the wind" so I put up with all that "old man stuff" and keep riding. Nice way to get the grandkids out and about too because mom doesn't worry so much with that set up. Hope to get some help from time to time here......Papa T
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-27-2014, 06:18 AM

Garage
welcome. you came to the right place for help. lots of good folks here. been riding for 44 yrs myself. what neck of the woods ya from?

POW/MIA Chairman
Lehigh Valley Chp.415
Vietnam Veterans
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-27-2014, 08:48 AM Thread Starter

You are not so far from me and have the same winter weather. Got my first bike in 1965 in Kansas when working Radar Repair in the Air Force. I am in Upstate NY about 25 miles south of Rochester out in the country. About a mile from US20 near the Finger Lakes region with lots of nice roads and hills for riding through some pine forest and vineyards. It is my R&R these days. Sold an original Venture when the cancer came that had 115,000 miles on it. I have grandkids in Tulsa, OK and Oakland, CA and USAF friends all the way so have been across the country a few times. No more of that now, but still riding and that is the best therapy for my wife (of 45 years) and I. Up here we have had some frost and so it is starting to think of putting the V Star in it's winter place and tuning up the snow thrower. It is always close and on a battery tender just in case. I do think of my friends in the south that ride all year round, but I like the seasons.

PGRNY member