Second Yamaha - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-29-2015, 02:34 PM Thread Starter

Second Yamaha

Hello! My name is Genghis and I live in Central California. I just picked up a 2006 VStar 1100 Silverado with 25k miles on it. I replaced the stock bars with 10" rize z-bars, took off the internal bar heaters and replaced them with external heaters and rewired them to work with the Oxford Intelligent Heat Controller I just purchased. Over the heaters are my rubber/chrome flame grips. I also put on LED lighting in my front fender and all around my bike. I added a car horn to the existing air horn to make myself more noticeable when needed.

As for myself, I've been riding since I was 16, but consistently for the last 20 years. My first bike was a Yamaha XT200 enduro which was a blast. Then I had a Suzuki Savage 650 which i rode until a garage messed it up. I replaced that with an 86 Suzuki Intruder 750 which I customized with oak veneer and customer seating. When that died, I picked up a 2004 Suzuki SV650S in 2008 which I customized for sport touring. I bought that bike with 20k miles on it and it now has 100,236 miles on it! I just recently picked up my VStar 1100 because I need a more upright position now that I'm older. I love this bike but I have to constantly remind myself that I can't lean or turn as fast as I can on my SV...lol.

I always said that if I were to go back to a cruiser, I would pick up a Suzuki or Yamaha and I am so glad I got the Yamaha. This bike runs great! It already had the oil filter relocation mod done as well as K&N air pod mod. It also has the Mustang seats so everything I was thinking I would have to do to it has already been done.

I'm looking forward to learning more about my bike and seeing everyone else's. Have a great day!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-29-2015, 03:14 PM