good roads in the Florida panhandle? - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By bigdaddyl
  • 2 Post By bigdaddyl

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-12-2016, 11:16 PM Thread Starter

Garage
good roads in the Florida panhandle?

every day I have to ride hwy 98 between Gulf Breeze and Mary Esther FL to and from work, which is a dangerous, trying, frustrating ride. When I started riding I lived in SE PA, where there are no shortage of nice cruising roads.

I'm looking for some nice tree covered riding roads. Ive found hwy 29 running from Cantonment to Florala is nice, but I'm really looking for a nice long 2 lane to just relax and enjoy the sights.

The run from pensacola beach to navarre beach is ok, except for the sand, speed bumps, and "bird crossings". I do the run at least twice a year during a full moon. The water is a sight to see.

ISRA #4642
98 VStar 650 Classic
Ignant is Bliss
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-17-2016, 11:10 PM
eGo

What about 20? I've only ridden part of it when I went to visit my in-laws at their summer house in Freeport, but it seemed to meet your criteria.. At least between Niceville and Bruce.. I know that's a little further east.. But, might be just the types of roads your looking for.

GL!

eGo
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-18-2016, 11:52 PM Thread Starter

Garage
as soon as it stops raining, and I get the bike fixed, ill check it out

ISRA #4642
98 VStar 650 Classic
Ignant is Bliss
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-23-2016, 09:37 PM

Try the run from Milton to Defuniak (90), then south on HWY 331 to HWY 20, then east through Niceville back home via 98.

A really nice run is HWY 30A east of SanDestin - that's very scenic and outs at Panama City Beach back onto HWY 98.