Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

Anyone use Bondo before?

2K views 13 replies 6 participants last post by  YamaMassGirl 
#1 ·
Hey everyone, I wanted to know if any of you have any tips and tricks for filling a dent on a motorcycle tank.

I got this stuff, but I believe that it will be good for only the small dings and deep scratches that I have on the other body work, right?

There were a few different products at the store. I've never used the stuff before, so...

I could probably just Google the best stuff to use and methods for application, but it's more fun to ask you guys and gals.

Thanks in advance for any feedback!

Sent from my SM-S975L using Tapatalk

See less See more
#3 ·
It depends on how deep the dent is. You don't want bondo to be more than 1/4 inch thick. Bondo any thicker can shrink and not adhere properly. You must sandpaper the surface prior to application as there needs to be a mechanical bond. I would suggest watching several online videos as good dent repair is an art. From experience I can tell you the first time does not always work out to look perfect. Good luck.

#4 ·
The decision should be based on how large is the dent. You might be better off using fiberglass. Bondo is best for final smoothing of an area. Fiberglass is not as complicated to use as you might think. As long as you are careful to follow the directions for mixing the resin/hardner, the rest is fairly simple. Once you have the hole filled, then you can bondo it and smooth it out.

#5 ·
Thanks for the replies. I will Google some stuff. I did see fiberglass stuff with the Bondo.

Hard to tell from pic. The outside diameter is about the size of a quarter, and it may be deeper than 1/4 in. Maybe 1/2 an inch.

Guess I should fiberglass, or study up some. I would hate for it to sink and kill my paint job.

Sent from my SM-S975L using Tapatalk

#6 ·