Yamaha Starbike Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since im new to my bike i would like to invest in some pipes at some point. I have asked a few people about what would be the best option. Some have said that i can't get slipons because of a crossover on my system, and some have said it doesn't matter. For those who are pretty good in this area, what can i do? and what is this talk about re-jetting pipes? please help me understand this.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Hiya sarge, i fitted vance and hines classic 2 slip ons on my 1100. They sound great. On some bikes when you fit straight through pipes you need to re-jet the carbs because the pipes draw more air through the engine because they are straight throughs. This means the bike could run lean and end up doing a lot of damage to the engine. I was lucky with the classic 2's, i didnt have to re-jet or remove the ais system on my bike. The bike runs great. You sometimes have to remove the ais pipes if the bikes pops and bangs when you throttle off. If you go on youtube you can hear the classic 2's fitted to the 1100. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Not sure which V-Star you have. I have an 05 1100 Classic. It has Roadhouse Sixty-Five Special Slip-ons. They sound great. You will get backfire on deceleration (any slip-on, you will). You will need to remove your AIS to get rid of the backfire. Some bikes will need to get their carburetors re-jetted but usually only if you do a complete exhaust change. This is for an 1100 so your bike will be different if it is another bike. I hope this helps.

·
Registered
37 Posts