Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just rode to sturgis and back to home here in Kansas. I have a 2000 1100 with 23750 on it. I am a big guy 6'1" at 290 and had 40 lbs of gear on the bike. Was having fun and topped her out at a TOTAL OF 95 mph. :eek: This is my first year riding and my first bike, but I expected to hit 110 or more for top speed.

Is this normal? The bike is running great. It has been jetted for cobra slash cut pipes. Stock on the rest.

What is everybodies top speed on their 1100's? What is wrong if this is not normal? What should the 1100 be getting on top speed?

·
Registered
163 Posts
Found this on the wiki page so it looks like you are within spec:
Basic "Specs" from - 02/2000 Test of 2000 1100 Classic - Courtesy of Motorcycle Consumer News

48.7 HP - Rear Wheel
57.2 lb-ft - Torque - rear Wheeel
685 lb Wet Weight
34.2 Avg MPG
94 MPH top speed
6.53 sec 0 to 60
14.91 sec 0 to 1/4 mile
85.59 mph 0 to 1/4 mile
130.7 ft 60 to 0 mph braking
1:13.51 power to weight ratio
Heavyweight Cruiser
4 out of 5 - overall rating

·
Registered
257 Posts
I've got a 2009 Classic with some things added. I've gotten a little over 95 once and it felt like there might be a little more left. But I couldn't figure out why I needed to go that fast on a cruiser. If I felt I needed speed, I would have bought a sport bike.

·
Registered
179 Posts
If "go fast" is important to you, the 1100 isnt the bike you want. I'd say if you hit 95 with all that gear your bike is running better than average. Just run it....and dont touch it !!

I hit 88 once on my 1100. It had some left but top speed is not important to me at all. I reckon it'll hit 95. But....why bother? If I want "go fast" I'll get a Busa !! Lol !

·
Registered
354 Posts
It's not A high performance bike that being said I've shifted into 5th at 95 on several occasions but sometimes the bike won't top 85 in 5th. Odd huh

·
Registered
179 Posts