Yamaha Starbike Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Reaction score
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there, looking for some help on maintenance I should perform on a bike. I'm getting my father in-laws xv1600 that has been sitting for over 4 years. It's a 2001 with just over 12k on it and always garage kept. I know the oil needs to be changed, gas flushed out, carb cleaned, new plugs, and maybe brake pads.
What didn't know was about the tires and belt. I think the tires are original but even if they aren't, do they "expire "? Still holding air and no signs of cracks, so should I replace them to be safe? Also, what should I look for on the belt? Is there a wear indicator or are they a drive until they break item?
I'm new to street bikes but have ridden dirt bikes since I was a kid which was back in the late 1900s haha.

Thanks for your help and input!

· Registered
115 Posts
Reaction score
yup. mine 2006 sat in my garage for 12 years. original belt still holding out. some derusting of the tank is worthwhile. flush brake fluids. might want to replace fuel filter. maybe go pumpless, while carb is open.

· Registered
6,384 Posts
Reaction score
The tires do expire, the belt should be good,just clean it with soap and water " no belt dressing" that picks up road grime and kills a belt. I don't know where you live , but here in Pensacola if it is damp it hit the chrome around the speedo about three times with open palm. If not the speedo and gas gauge want to act funny. The 1600 has a weak starter solenoid, they last about a year then they start needing several clicks on the starter button before they hit. They are cheap and you can get them on Amazon.
Run seafoam , about 1 ounce a gallon a couple times a year and you will never have carb problems. Use the choke everytime you start it, it's a big motor and will start everytime if you do it.