Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

2017 vstar 1300. Bobber build?

5K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  Keith Post 
#1 ·
So I’m pretty new to the bike scene, street wise anyway. Grew up on dirt bikes. Recently I got a 2017 vstar 1300, it was dropped and needs a bit of work. I want to build a bobber, but have not been able to find any similar builds or info with such a new bike. And any of the “kits” for bobber builds I see are for older model years, and only for the 650s from what I see. I imagine these are not compatible? I’m no mechanic, but short of rebuilding an engine myself, I do my own work of my cars.

but with the bike, the work is mostly fabrication and body work, which I have no experience with. I’m just looking for Some General direction, or if it’s even realistic to take on. If anyone has time to share some insight I would really appreciate it.

Along the lines of what it requires, where to find parts, tips, tricks, etc. Any input is appreciated. I think I need to go after market with the tank anyway, but that is one thing damaged on the bike, and I can’t find a replacement online, is this normal?

I’ll try to attach some photos. Thanks

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
There are quite a few guys here that have bobbed stuff out. I dont know if you looked for the bobber threads. You might be able to get some ideas. There are a lot of people here that can help you out.
Unfortunately i am not one. Did you buy it damaged? If you could straighten it out you would have a hellava bike. I can't see how much damage is in the front. I can just see tank and bars

#3 ·
I’ve searched around in general, can’t say specifically on this forum I guess. I’m sure they are share a similar process, just haven’t found anything as specific as I’d like I guess lol. Bought it damaged for 1k, couldn’t pass on it for the price. as for the front, needs lights, handle bars, new brake cables, and an ignition. Nothing to bad.

#4 ·