Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

Newbie here. I am considering to trade my 1500cc Goldwing and 800cc Suzuki C50T for a bike somewhere in between in size. I find the Goldwing too heavy and bulky for small road cruising and the C50T not sufficient for 55+ mph roads.

I'm considering the 950T, 1300T or even an older 1100. I want the smallest possible bike that still feels adequate, stable and smooth on 55+ mph roads (although I mainly ride on 35-45 mph roads). My C50T is geared much too low for my liking and feels "buzzy" (high rpms) at 55+ mph. I suppose some of that is because the Goldwing feels so smooth at those speeds.

So my questions are:
1. Which bike (950T, 1300T, etc.) will best meet my needs? Has anybody ridden both the Suzuki C50T and Star 950T to compare how they handle at highway speed?
2. Star 1300T vs. 1300T Deluxe: which windshield (batwing or lexan) provides the best wind protection against buffeting?
3. Is there a major insurance cost jump between the 950cc & 1300cc?
4. Do any Star models have self-cancel turn signals?
5. Has anybody seen passenger grab rails for Star models? My boy likes to ride with me once in awhile, but likes to hold onto something.

Thanks!
Gary

·
Registered
51 Posts
i can't comment on the 1300 but i do ride the stryker which has the same engine as the 1300 and it has plenty of power and is smooth. my wife rides the 950t and loves the bike very stable and smooth and comfortable, i have rode it a few times and it is a nice bike. insurance would be cheeper on the 950t and it has no problems on the hwy.

·
Registered
417 Posts