Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2002 vstar 650. I just had to replace the rear drive unit which was 1150 and now the clutch is slipping. To fix that would be around 400. I bought the bike from what i now realize was shady. This bike is supposed to be very reliable and it has not been for me. I drained the synthetic oil and put in regular petroleum oil to help increase the friction. I'm thinking about just trading it in and buying a brand new so I don't have to worry about this. But then again, I just put in so much money. Basically, I'm worried that things are going to continue to break down. I'm new to bikes and I don't know what else could go wrong. Any opinions? trade and buy new? or just fix the clutch?

·
Registered
1,531 Posts
Good luck

Superashley,

There's not way I can answer that but, I can tell you normally a 650 V Star's are very reliable. I would fix it but, I don't know how the last owner treated it or took care of it. Odds are you will fix the problem and that will be it, but who knows.

You probably know but just in case. Many oils, specially synthetic oils have friction reducers. they can cause clutch slippage. I don't think 650's have the strongest clutch. There is a spring kit available. Might make the clutch lever harder to pull.

http://650ccnd.com/mods/clutch/springs.htm

Be sure there is a little free play in the clutch lever.

This is instructions for the 1100, should be same, I think.

http://www.sloneservices.com/SilverBack/VStar1100-FAQ-04.htm#Clutch

Look around here.

http://650ccnd.com/
Dave

·
Registered
305 Posts
As Dave stated, the 650 is a very reliable bike. That said, some of the 02-04 models had an issue with the final drive. It's been known to fail on other years as well, but most failures occured on those 3 model years. I have heard a few instances where it happened a second time on the same bike, but quite rare.