Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. I'm wondering if it's possible for me to remove my mufflers and install home made straight pipes. I'm thinking about bobbing my bike and like the straight pipe look. Just don't like the price of new full pipes that I'm gonna wrap anyways... Any thoughts on this? I understand I will have to rejet the carbs and will also be adding a pod set up... Any help/ advise will be appreciated... 02 vstar 1100 custom...

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply ken. I have some fab experience from my job (steeplejack). Also have access to welding and cutting equipment. I need to know more about the back pressure issue. I was thinking I could make 2-3 cuts along the pipes and weld half moon baffles in them to restrict the air flow.... I started my bike with the mufflers off once and it was so cool sounding I wanted to ride it like that, but was afraid I might hurt something in the engine. Do the half moon baffles sound like a reasonable thing to try??? Has anyone made their own pipes that could chime in on this??? Thanks

Stan

·
Registered
600 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #6