Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, saying hello from Columbus Ohio and a 2001 V-Star 1100 Custom.

This is my first year riding motorcycles. I started in March on a Suzuki S40 (650cc) and upgraded in June to the V-Star, taking the MSF Basic course in-between. I LOVE this Yamaha and am averaging 500 miles/month, mostly just riding around and enjoying Ohio bi-ways. I've been working up to next weekend's Mountainfest in Morgantown WV, which'll be my first long-distance ride and first rally. Should be fun, and I have family and friends there I'll get to reconnect with - nice bonus!

I also wanted to thank everyone for their posts - this forum was one of the reasons why I pulled the trigger on the V-Star and I've silently been absorbing the wisdom of the crowd for a few weeks. :) As a way to pay it forward, I uploaded a video showing how I made custom windguard lowers to get rid of helmet buffeting with stuff easily obtained from Lowes. Hope it's useful to someone.

Anyway, if any fellow enthusiasts in the area would like to share the ride or wrench, gimme a shout.

Happy riding!
Scott

Attachments

·
Registered
1,620 Posts
Welcome aboard :D

·
Registered
294 Posts
Hey Scott ! Fellow DIY'er. I'm curious about your nicname ?

I'm a Taildragger pilot myself, build and maintain Sport biplanes. Own a Pitts S1S bipe. I fabricate parts for many different types of projects in my own home machine shop also. I work with aluminum, lots of chrome molly steel, steel, some stainless, and also some fiberglass.

Now I like your DIY approach to your lowers. And have a few positive issues for you to add to your project if needed. The do look pretty good, my constructive comments: