Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A little history...08 1100 with Hypercharger and new full Cobra exhaust. Just re-jetted to 120 main rear, 122.5 front, #20 pilot's, 3 turns out PMS, 2 shims on each needles and Emulsifier mod. Ok...just did a dyno run and it is showing the front cylinder is pretty lean at lower RPM then goes rich at higher RPM, rear cylinder seems relatively consistent. I'm new to messing with carbs so wanted to ask if might work to go bigger on the pilot to correct for lean condition at lower RPM then reduce main for rich condition at higher and leave rear cylinder as is??

·
Registered
5,634 Posts
the hypercharger is a ram air intake

unless you have 100 mph air hitting the front of it on the dyno, its not going to run the same as it will on the road

and its known for being difficult to tune for low rpm, its designed for racing at high speed

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
the hypercharger is a ram air intake
Good point!! didn't think of that. Overall the bike is running better post re-jet incl. smoother shifting, no decel pop etc etc, I'm just thinking if it seems to be an improvement then leave alone. I was just curious to see what it would show on a dyno and this "issue" with the front cylinder showed on the graph

·
Super Moderator "Loose Nut"
5,359 Posts
Here's some info on hyper chargers and dyno tuning.