Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have some Vance and Hines pipes to install on my 650 and was told to use the dynojet 4168 kit with it. I am new to working on bikes so this looks good to me as it includes the parts I need and I would have support from them if I needed help.

Question is are these kits worth the price or should I be buying parts by themselves and saving money?

·
Registered
1,090 Posts
Kit = $70-$80 I believe
Jets from a local bike shop = $7 or $8 each.
All the tech support you could ever need available here, FOC!

You do the math.

I know exactly how you feel being apprehensive about it. I just did it myself for the first time. I had a MAXAIR kit the PO had purchased so I used parts from that. But I can say I would never buy a kit. Just what individual jets I need and be done with it. That kit is now on a shelf in my shop with more parts still in it unused than I took from it.

·
Registered
39 Posts
i bought the kit and its sitting on my bench now. never worked right. took it into my dealer and they tuned the carbs for less then the kit was.

·
Registered
2,181 Posts
Lemme see......buy a kit for $80.......then throw away $70 worth of stuff that you just bought. If that makes sense to you....buy the kit.

I look at it this way.....if the shop isn't smart enough to know exactly what jets I need.....I'm not EVER going to let them touch my bike.

You can get a pair of small Mikuni mains for about $10-12 from any decent parts place. I've had the best luck getting them from my local Harley dealer......best price in town. With the 650.....do a little reading and you'll know exactly what size you'll need. There isn't much guess work.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Any sticky or link to what size jets I would need? I did a quick search but didn't find much unless I was using the wrong wording.

·
Registered
5 Posts