Yamaha Starbike Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
202 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Been contemplating putting lower windscreens on my 950 but would like to hear both the positives and negatives from anyone(s) with practical experience or first hand observation.

·
Registered
1,565 Posts
I had them on my 950 and loved them. Get the widest ones you can find. Some of the cheaper ones are narrow and don't work as well.
If you are trying to cut down wind turbulence they do help quite a bit.
I now them on my 1700 Nomad.
Wouldn't have a bike without them

·
Premium Member
2006 Yamaha 650 V Star Classic Cruiser.
152 Posts
There are no negatives with fitting a windscreen to a motorcycle. I have been running one for over 15 years now and would not be without one. I went for too many years without one. I tried a smaller screen years ago but it was little better than no windscreen. Windscreens and cruiser motorcycles just go together. Along with big crash bars and panniers they all make a cruiser bike complete and ready for touring. The bigger windscreen puts the air flow over the top of my helmet stopping bugs getting on my face and dark glasses. I always wear an open face helmet and without the screen I used to get bug splatter on my face which was a real bummer but with the screen no problems. Windscreens are on the motorcycles of people that understand what real motorcycling is all about.

My windscreen is a National Cycle. It fit strait up with no worries using the National Cycle Mounting Kit. It adjusts up and down for height and angle backwards and forwards.

·
Registered
2010 Stratoliner Deluxe
236 Posts
BTW: I assume you are talking about lowers and not the actual windshield itself?