Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Since I picked it up last year, it has always started easily. Pepcock on. Full Choke. Key on. Neutral, Clutch, Just a bit of throttle, and hit the starter. Vrrrrrooom!

Now however, the starter cranks and cranks but it won't catch. After a while, I do get a strong smell of gas. Yesterday it took 5-7 minutes of cranking before it finally started. Then I rode it to work (~45 minutes). Almost the same thing coming home.

** I forgot to mention, that it has back fired a couple times during the cranking-but-not-starting phase. **

I'm a relative novice under the hood (so to speak), so I'm open to suggestions.

Bad Gas? I'm about 40 miles into this tank.

Did I get water somewhere I shouldn't last time I washed it? No, I don't use a power washer, and although it does get wet, I don't focus the hose on the engine.

This just seems kind of sudden.

Ideas?
-PH

·
Registered
1,052 Posts
** Check all electrical connection & grounds to make sure they are good & tight.

** Check you battery to make sure it is putting out the voltage needed.

** If you are worried about this tank of gas, drain it and pour fresh. (You can save that "bad" gas for your lawn mower. At least that is what I did.)

** Check you air filter. Make sure you did not suck something into it. and it is blocking the intake.

** Check you spark. It is strong, weak or ... nonexistent?

Those are just the first thoughts that popped into my head.

·
Registered
5,627 Posts
Couple things: how has your weather been? If its pretty warm out you dont need to pull the choke out all the way on a cold bike - maybe halfway. If your bike is jetted a little rich, pulling the choke out all the way when its 90 out might be flooding the engine.