Yamaha Starbike Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
While under a load my bike seems to idle a little bit rough. Also while riding there are moments where I get like a surge of power like in suddenly has all the power in the world. And then it goes away. Not quite sure what to check to correct this issue is it vacuum, spark or fuel? Maybe I need to adjust the pms screws? It does have the modified stock exhaust. Could that be a back pressure problem. Kinda at a loss here. I am a pretty good mechanic. I work on BlackHawks and I know my way around a vehicle’s engine. Not too terribly experienced with bikes. I see a lot of people talking about ais delete and other mods like big air and pod kits. I honestly just want this thing running. all next week it’s gonna be in the 70s here and I would love to ride!!

·
Super Moderator "Loose Nut" - Houston, Texas
2001 Vstar 1100 Classic (sold), 2006 HD Electra Glide Ultra Classic
10,889 Posts
I suspect a fuel issue. First I would change fuel filter. If that doesn't cure it I would check carb floats. It sounds like you are not getting a full fuel flow all the time. If after you change fuel filter and don't see improvement, check back and several of us are pretty carb savvy and can walk you thru checking float level.

Reactions: Zpearson84

·
Registered
2011 Yamaha VStar 650
486 Posts
Might be a partially blocked jet. How does it pull with the throttle wide open?

·
Registered
3,970 Posts
Check air leaks at the intake manifolds,check plugs and see what color they are, Blow out the air cleaner.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #5