Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi everyone i'm new to this web site, but i had just bought a 2003yamaha v star 1100 classic and i'm not very smart about the motor. so my question is the bike has cobra longboy exhaust on it and i had taken the baffles out because the sound it makes without them is so sweet. now the old owner said he had rejetted it for the pipes but how do i know if taking the baffles out will hurt the motor what signs should i look for or should i not worry about it. thanks for any answers. josh

·
Registered
422 Posts
It should be alright , but just to be on the safe side run it for a week or so and check your plugs. If it is running too lean your plugs will be a very light color. They will look too clean.

·
Registered
45 Posts
I agree!

It should be alright , but just to be on the safe side run it for a week or so and check your plugs. If it is running too lean your plugs will be a very light color. They will look too clean.
I agree if its running too lean, they will look white, kinda chalkie looking. What your looking for is a tan to brown color on the plug, and if they are black it means your running too rich. Good luck, I just did a modification on the airbox on my 1100 custom and it lean it out some so I had to close off the old air intake port in favor of the new port I put in the front of the airbox. My plugs were showing signs of chalkie look, so I had to close off the old air intake port.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks for the advise i have checked the plugs after a long ride today and they are a tan/gray color what do you think i should do.

·
Registered
45 Posts
I would leave it alone!

thanks for the advise i have checked the plugs after a long ride today and they are a tan/gray color what do you think i should do.