Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm afraid to even ask this but I would like some other input.
The video below was made by someone with the exact problem I'm having.
I haven't had any real issues out of this bike until today
I did notice slipping when I got on it hard in 3rd last week but I rode it last weekend without any issues.
Today was the first day riding since then, pulled out of the driveway fine and then it just let go.
I would love to hear it's something simple or suggestions on things to check.
I'm not a mechanic but I can do some basic things.

https://youtu.be/2NyQwVuHDI4

Thanks in advance for any info you can give.

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes, I can put it in first and roll it and I hear it clicking, the drive shaft isn't rotating, it actually moves forward a little each time it clicks almost like it's popping out of gear.

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Sounds like I'll probably end up selling it off for parts, the bike and it has 42,000+ on it.
I would need someone more mechanical than me to fix it so it'll be hard to justify putting that much into it.
Thanks for the info, that's what I thought the issue was going to be.

·
Registered
188 Posts
Sounds like I'll probably end up selling it off for parts, the bike and it has 42,000+ on it.

I would need someone more mechanical than me to fix it so it'll be hard to justify putting that much into it.

Thanks for the info, that's what I thought the issue was going to be.

Is it a 650 or 1100?
I have a complete final drive for a 1100 with just 7K miles on it I can let go for real cheap ! I mean CHEAP! :)

·
Registered
13 Posts
Most probably the splines in the drive shaft to final drive failed from lack of lubrication, not the drive itself but the result is the same, I believe the parts aren't available separately anyway. This is why it's important to lube them every tire change at the very least.