Yamaha Starbike Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, I’d like to give credit where it’s due. Many thanks to not only the creator of this forum but most likely you, the one reading this, for your time and contributions as well. Pages like this provide such a wealth of knowledge and experience, and are a most excellent asset to possess. Most especially when dealing with the kinks and problems that comes with ownership of these bikes.

Coming in hot! My name is Wes, I’m a commercial fisherman by trade here in Florida. I just purchased my first bike this week, one of my grandads bikes that I grew up on for many years prior. He was in a spot for cash, and I was in a predicament for a ride so we came up with a compromise. It seems as though I’ll be thoroughly going through this 1999 V-Star 650. So maybe I can return the favor and contribute my progress to the group, bringing this bike out of the ashes. Quite literally. Yeah, yesterday it caught on fire. Backfired out of the carbs I didn’t realize it was flooded, kept trying to crank it, and now I’m left with some tough choices and purchases to make. Anyone with some advice, it would be greatly appreciated. I’ll follow up with a post of few in the proper discussion pages. If you care to check up or speak up that’d be awesome. Y’all be safe & carry a fire extinguisher. It can happen to anyone.

3FFBAD86-008C-402F-9667-153EA784CBBA.png

·
Super Moderator "Loose Nut" - Houston, Texas
2001 Vstar 1100 Classic (sold), 2006 HD Electra Glide Ultra Classic
10,891 Posts
Welcome from Houston Texas. Sorry for your bike catching fire. When you start a thread in Vstar section with concerns you will get some good feedback. One thing for sure, you look a lot calmer than I would be. Here's a few intesting threads to check out when you get a chance.

Go to last page for current hunt