Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I'm new to motorcycling and don't have anyone in my family or among my friends who has much experience with them. So being a total Newbie I just yesterday, dropped the clutch way to fast on one of my little rides - lost control of the bike and went down at relatively low speed (15-20 km/h?).

Aside from a scratched handle bar and brake pedal/peg It seems I've thrown off the alignment of my front wheel and handle bars. I guess I should take it to the mechanics but wonder if it's safe to ride there or whether I should rent a uhaul and take it down? Also any tips on finding a good mechanic?

·
Registered
124 Posts
Sorry to hear of your drop, hope that you didn't get skinned up. The foot brake and peg, you can go on Youtube and probably figure out how to repair those yourself. That is if you can turn a wrench

Definitely a good mechanic is in order. This is the machine that you will be heading down the road at freeway speeds in the future. Biting the bullet and going to the dealer (as long as he is reputable) is not a bad thing. They are capable even if they are the dealer of a different metric bike (not recommending Harley, too pricey). I would check online for reviews of the dealer I was interested. If you can catch another rider or two in your area, word of mouth is so much more accurate in my opinion.

As far as; should you ride it? This can only be determined by you. Just ease it over there if you do. An hour long ride though, something might come loose that you are not aware of. Might not be a good idea. You can schedule a bike wrecker to come pick it up. Maybe if you are flexible it won't be very much.

Hopefully it just needs to be adjusted, Don't let it get you down, let's learn from our mistakes. Keep on riding!

P.S. Before getting it fixed, practice with the clutch....if it starts to go down, throw it down on the same side. lol