Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok as previously posted in HELP!! I stated there was a small leak on the left side pulley cover...So last night I fully removed the cover and verified the pulley nut is looks and this is the source of the oil leaking.

NOW, just need a few inputs on how to fix this...
A) Do I need to change the seal now as well?
B) Do I need to loosen the belt tension?
C) What do I torque the nut to after applying Loctite?
D) Any other helpful hints or things I missed?

Thanks a lot all in advance this will be the first real thing other than fluid changes I have attempted on the motorcycle and still learning. I am a diesel mechanic so I am mechanical, just never worked on any motorcycles before..

·
Registered
1,090 Posts
You will most likely eventually get the answers you seek from other posters but I will make the suggestion to get your hands on a repair manual. It will detail everything you have already asked in both threads. Also checkout the roadstar forum. Sorry I don't have a direct link. Tons of info there directly for the roadie.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well everyone I need some more help...Reading along in other forums I am now scared there may be more damage and work than just a simple retorque... Can anyone help me out and tell me how to check the bearings behind there or what to look for ??? Any play or whatever I need to check?? There was a lot of fluid leaked along with some red powder like material in it?

Should I be worried or just retorque and hope the best?

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well, I think tonight I am going to clean everything under the cover the pulley etc...Then remove the nut and add red Loctite, then retoqrue it to 61 ft lbs...So hopefully I don't need a new seal or new bearings or anything else that go on the backside of the pulley...