Yamaha Starbike Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I'm fairly new to this hobby but am enjoying it to the fullest.
After lurking old threads it seems like I must grease the splines in the final drive with moly grease or risk damaging the unit.
I have a 1999 XVS with about 31000km on it. Purchased used late last year. I recently changed the oil, replaced the air filters and spark plugs. This was my first time doing of this but I enjoyed the process and learning how to do these things.
However, removing the entire rear wheel and partly disassemble the drive shaft seems intimidating, so I want to ask these two questions:

1. My bike is running fine as far as I can tell, the rear tire has enough profile. Should I still disassemble everything solely to grease the splines?
2. If so, is there a comprehensive guide on how to do this? I've seem people refer to the knowledge base on this website but so far I'm unable to find it.

Bonus question: other than the already performed maintanence actions, I want to replace the final drive oil. Is there anything other than that I should perform on this new-to-me bike to ensure safe and smooth riding? Like brake fluid replacement for example.

Thank you so much for your time and ride safe.

·
Super Moderator
4,060 Posts
I check the spines on my 1100 whenever I changed the tires. Once you get the wheel free, you just pull it back and down and the driveshaft comes off with it. Then it's just a matter of pulling the differential off the hub. It can be a little tight but resist the urge to get a hammer and just keep working it and it will come apart. There are lots of YouTube videos on how to do it.

As for other things, replacing the gear oil in the differential is fairly straight forward. Here's a link to a thread that explains it pretty well. Final Drive Oil ????