Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Going to keep this simple, but for more detailed information please go to this entry on Facebook on how I was able to upload GPX files with just over 50 waypoints. There is a limitation of waypoints but I know 70 is too many but 53 works.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/781935901987573/1276792845835207/?comment_id=1277863952394763&notif_id=1561481119961174&notif_t=group_comment

I did call corporate Yamaha and reported my findings, so they are aware that there is at least a work around and that they can at least take the information and plan accordingly.

The quick and dirty is to save your complex GPX file as a "Harley Davidson Boom Box pre 2019" file. Details are on the FB entry.

NAVIGATION SYSTEMS GREATER THAN 6 WAYPOINTS SOLVED!

Ladies & Gentleman, I found a solution that is working for me to import complex routes into the Yamaha Navigation system on our bikes. It isn't perfect but it works for me. You will need to use/ any software that exports a GPX file in a "Harley Davidson Boom Box Pre 2019" format or purchase a mapping package called MyRoute-app. It is made by the same people who make TyreToTravel which I have been using for many years. The GPS system is made by the same company that makes the GPS system (Boom Box) for HD from my understanding. So MyRoute-app has directions on exporting routes into the Boom Box. I am using 2 routes that I created that are both about 500 miles and have between 40 and 52 waypoints on each file. The entire route will load into our GPS systems, depending on how far apart the waypoints are, and the number of roads in between will determine if the algorithm changes the route slightly. Regardless, all we need to do is to export the GPX file as a "Harley Davidson Boom Box pre 2019" option. The GPS will load the entire file and read. Import as a track and it will allow you to hit go and it seems to work.

I don't know of anything else that works, but I'm sure there are other products. I am using what I have available to me and just publishing to you my findings.

Good Luck!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,956 Posts
Going to keep this simple, but for more detailed information please go to this entry on Facebook on how I was able to upload GPX files with just over 50 waypoints. There is a limitation of waypoints but I know 70 is too many but 53 works.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/781935901987573/permalink/1276792845835207/

I did call corporate Yamaha and reported my findings, so they are aware that there is at least a work around and that they can at least take the information and plan accordingly.

The quick and dirty is to save your complex GPX file as a "Harley Davidson Boom Box pre 2019" file. Details are on the FB entry.
Please @jbkrab re-check your link info. I went to check it out and it says “removed”.
Thank you!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
NAVIGATION SYSTEMS GREATER THAN 6 WAYPOINTS SOLVED!

Ladies & Gentleman, I found a solution that is working for me to import complex routes into the Yamaha Navigation system on our bikes. It isn't perfect but it works for me. You will need to use/ any software that exports a GPX file in a "Harley Davidson Boom Box Pre 2019" format or purchase a mapping package called MyRoute-app. It is made by the same people who make TyreToTravel which I have been using for many years. The GPS system is made by the same company that makes the GPS system (Boom Box) for HD from my understanding. So MyRoute-app has directions on exporting routes into the Boom Box. I am using 2 routes that I created that are both about 500 miles and have between 40 and 52 waypoints on each file. The entire route will load into our GPS systems, depending on how far apart the waypoints are, and the number of roads in between will determine if the algorithm changes the route slightly. Regardless, all we need to do is to export the GPX file as a "Harley Davidson Boom Box pre 2019" option. The GPS will load the entire file and read. Import as a track and it will allow you to hit go and it seems to work.

I don't know of anything else that works, but I'm sure there are other products. I am using what I have available to me and just publishing to you my findings.

Good Luck!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
jbkrab,
Thank you for sharing your findings.
Would it be possible to post those "details" on this forum?
Some of us don't participate in Facebook. (Believe it or not!)

Thanks,
Gary
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
jbkrab - just to confirm ... you imported the file as a "Track", not a "Route"?
I'm not near my bike, but when the bike sees the files it will ask how to import. It's the second choice on my bike I can't remember if it's trip, track or trail. But it will be the second option.
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
Top