Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. Just got myself an '08 V-Star 650 Midnight Custom!
I am a Cincinnati resident, and have just started riding this year.

let me start off with a couple noob questions...

when you release your clutch, does your cable pull the handle all the way back? mine has a little slop and I don't know if that means it's slightly engaged or not. i can flick it forward with my finger.

my bike makes a tremendous whirring sound from the right side when riding. is that normal?

seriously, let me apologize right off the bat with the moronic questions! any help is greatly appreciated! I look forward to picking your brains in the near future!

Attachments

·
Registered
2,904 Posts
Pull the rubber cover a your clutch lever and adjust it by loosening the lock nut and turn the bolt out to take up slack. Leave a little gap and it should be fine. Whirring is normal. And them question have to be ask:D Welcome to the forum

·
Registered
923 Posts
Welcome to the forum/to riding. Congrats on the bike, nice looking piece of hardware you have. No such thing as a stupid question, but if there was I think I got all of them out of the way for everyone. Ask questions, and ask often, and enjoy the ride. We have a lot of great people here and we all like to have fun.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks a lot guys! I think the only modification I want to do is bolt on some V&H Short Shots, the Gonzo Air Kit, and then rejet. I also found some forward controls for about $125, but am debating on whether or not it's even necessary.

Farmalldanzil, where should the gap be exactly?

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #5