Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello from Fairbanks

Hi all - newbie here. I bought a crashed 2013 v-star 650 and am trying to put it back together. It turned out to be in pretty rough shape, but I nearly have it fixed and will post some pictures when/if it runs :smile:.
This is is the first motorcycle I’ve ever worked on so I’m learning a lot!

·
2,369 Posts
Welcome to the forum from Atlantic Canada. The 650 is a great bike and well worth fixing. Post any questions you may have and you'll get answers from our knowledgeable members. How about some pics?

·
Super Moderator "Loose Nut"
5,067 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the welcomes and the links! So I bought this bike sight unseen (unwise - won't be doing that again), and though it looked decent in the pictures, it actually had some pretty big problems. It has 2k miles on it. Here it is right after I picked it up:

https://i.imgur.com/9OUkXZg.jpg

Turned out the frame was quite bent near the kickstand, there was a hole in the bottom of the crankcase, a hole in the generator cover, a couple large dents in the fuel tank from the handlebars (because the stop had sheared off), various bent things, and quite a bit of scratches on most of the chrome.

I tried all sorts of things to straighten the frame (hammers, jacks, etc), but the tube just collapsed instead of bending back. So I cut out the damaged section, got inner sleeves, salvaged the bushings, and had a friend weld them back together. After quite a bit of grinding it turned out ok.

Here's the before:
https://i.imgur.com/dmhwNHt.jpg

Here it is welded up and cleaned a bit:
https://i.imgur.com/2ex13kA.jpg

And after painting:
https://i.imgur.com/4FsKzus.jpg

Here's the original sheared handlebar stop (just behind the shattered headlight):
https://i.imgur.com/o3nIyUc.jpg