Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, I'm new to the forums, and honestly I'm new to motorcycling. In fact I don't even have a license yet or the money to get a bike. But I came here in search of answers, particularly about the V-Star 250. Now I'd like to say that first off, I like the looks, and honestly the low power doesn't bother me that much (I'm not going to be racing or anything, I'm more casual driver focused), as from what I understand you are able to take it on the highway without much problem, though I'd most likely primarily use it for back roads. (please correct me if I'm wrong). I was wondering if anyone could give me the basic gist of its capabilities, if there are any known problems with it, and if anyone on here owns one I'd love to hear their opinion of it. Thanks, I appreciate it!

·
Registered
1,880 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Can't tell you jack about a 250 other than it is Yamaha, so good choice:cool: Your user name says something, your profile says nothing, tell us about you.:confused: Ride safe.

·
Registered
2,904 Posts
My wife put 5000 miles on a 2005 vstar250 with ever thing on it, and it would do 75 easy :D but it would bounce you a lot:eek: bout 150miles is all you would wont. Got 85 miles or so to the gallon. The first 500 mile was put on in my pasture. Traded for 650 and got the same money as I gave for it. Yes it is one good bike. and welcome to the forum.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the welcome guys! Sugar Bear I got around to updating my profile. And farmalldanzil, I doubt I would be taking 150 mile straight trips with it, I've got a car that I would use for longer hauls. Around what speeds does the bouncing start to get annoying? Where I live 65 is the speed limit, I tend to keep steady at about 5 mph over that, but if necessary I'd knock it down for riding. Did you do any of that riding on the highway?

·
Banned
1,741 Posts