Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

New forum member posting an introduction from sunny Melbourne! Nearly 40 years old, still a noob to motorcycle riding. I've been riding for around four months on a 2010 V-Star 650 Classic and signed up here after being told this is the best forum for info on these bikes.

Looking forward to catching up with you all soon!

Cheers,
Gobb

Attachments

·
Registered
794 Posts
G'day Gobb! Welcome to the forum. Nice to meet someone from home... it's durn cold here in SF at the moment and I am really missing the sunny hot Xmas weather I grew up with.

What part of town are you in and where do you ride? I used to take some wonderful rides north in the Kinglake area with a friend on the back of his crotch rocket (I lived in Lower Plenty so north was easier after he collected me).

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the welcome :)

M'Lady, I'm in Croydon South, right near the foot of the Dandenongs, so there's some great rides accessible to me there. I've only had the bike a short while since getting my learner's permit in September, but I've had a few rides around the local hills, out to Noojee, over the Black Spur to Marysville, Kinglake, up to Daylesford and so on. I was actually out Plenty way on New Year's Eve, for no good reason other than I just felt like a ride and kept going random places until I absolutely had to turn back... you know how it goes I'm sure :)

Right now, I'm working on getting my daily work commute sorted out while the roads are quiet. It's a 70km round trip with some freeway and inner-city work so it's something different. The weather's turned hot today (36C) so that's going to be interesting with all the gear on. I only have the one set of medium-weight gear and can't afford storage for anything yet, so that should be fun. Oh well, you live and learn I guess!

·
Registered
794 Posts