Yamaha Starbike Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I recently joined because my son bought a 2010 V-Star 650 Classic that needs quite a bit of TLC. I've been riding & wrenching for 40+ years and I've restored a few bikes. This will be his first project so I'll help him as much as I can, but I haven't worked on a V-Star and I'm sure we'll often be turning to this forum. 馃憤

Registered
If it is running you have it 90% as it sits, I have a 650 classic with 145,000 miles on it . If you take care of those they will run for a long time.
This is a good place for OEM parts , ( Partzilla).

Also you will need these

Attachments

Registered
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
If it is running you have it 90% as it sits, I have a 650 classic with 145,000 miles on it . If you take care of those they will run for a long time.
This is a good place for OEM parts , ( Partzilla).

Also you will need these
Thanks! This one has only about 25000 miles so it's good to know it has some legs yet. We have an electrical gremlin that we haven't started troubleshooting so we'll be making good use of that wiring diagram as our first task.

Registered
Welcome from Rochester NY and another 650 owner. Getting your bike roadworthy will be rewarding and worth it all after your first trip. Do check all the drive splines for proper grease as they often get overlooked for service. Otherwise, you can expect good advice from many helpful forum members. Visit often and keep us updated on the progress. Your classic appears to be mostly stock. Happy trails!

Registered