Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello from Montreal. I don't have a star yet but I'm seriously considering it. I have an 82 Maxim650 and a 69-79 HD XLCH and I'm getting a bit old to keep kicking that sportster. So, I'm going to see if I can find an 1100 Star for a good price.
I'll be looking for an older Star. If anyone has suggestions about what to watch out for, I'd appreciate your input.
thanks,
MC

·
Registered
923 Posts
After you read more about my story you'll understand my response.

Look out for previous owners who do work to the bike and then give you responses like, "well I'm not a mechanic".

With that being said, of all the research I've done and all the fine people on this forum, these bikes are rock solid. There are a few mechanical folks that should be along shortly to let you know of any known issues.

With that lengthy response, welcome to the forum and you've picked a great bike!

·
Registered
404 Posts
Welcome to the greatest forum on the net, with the most sane group of people you'll ever meet.:confused:;):D

If you're looking for an 1100, you can't beat it. Things to watch for? Make sure it has gas in it, that's important. You'll go through a lot of it.:)

And watch out for the advice of some "people" on this forum.:eek: Some will recommend blue. Others might give you some suggestions on something like "blackcherry". Yet others may say black, especially on an 1100, is best (be cautious of advice from Jarheads:D). The best advice is a combination of red and black.

Again welcome, and best of luck in your search.:)

·
Registered
3,650 Posts