Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just trying to get a feel for how long on average you've been riding a 650cc. I'm a big guy 6'1, 230lbs and everyone says I'm going to outgrow my 650 in a year.

However, I've been riding a 50cc for 7 years, so compared to that 650 is alot of bike.

I'm thinking about riding it for about 8 years. Then my son will be old enough for a bike and I'll trade up. Is that a ridiculous thought?

So let's go your
Height:
Weight: (I guess you don't have to for females :))
Number of years on 650:

·
Registered
32 Posts
Man, you're asking all the hard questions!
Not because of pressure. I'm sure I bought it for my own motives, and will eventually trade up for my own motives. Actually I was about to buy a larger Boulevard from the dealer, and watched a young guy sit on it, and say he'd take it. So the 650 was the fall back.

I'm doing quite a bit of highway riding, and expect that to continue. I think a larger bike will be better for that. I'm practicing u-turns in the road, and other low speed maneuvers every time I ride, and I expect that will equip me for a bigger and heavier bike.

Otherwise, I have no idea why! But thanks for making me think about it.

Rod

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
My biggest reason for a trade up would be dimensions. My legs are just a bit to long or too big around or both. I use mine as a commuter mostly and for that it's not bad.

I figure I'll get highway pegs on the crash bars so I can stretch out on the highway. It just seems like every says you will trade up or skip the 650 range completely.

·
Registered
32 Posts
My legs are a bit of an issue. Some times my hips will cramp, and it feels I'm having to raise my feet too much to get on the floor boards. I tell myself it's from doing a lot of bicycle riding, but maybe I'm fooling myself!