Yamaha Starbike Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm new here and found you all as i was researching the transcontinental because i am thinking about buying a 2018 model. Let me get right to my question i want a ride that is smooth going over bumps. If anyone can compare the ride to the Indian roadmaster i would appreciate it. I'm now on a Kaw Voyager and when i test rode the Indian it was like getting out of a jeep and getting into a Cadillac. I understand most everything else about the bike but i won't really know how smooth it is until i test ride one and that means traveling out of state to do that and not coming back the same day so i thought i would get some opinions on it. I do understand a lot more goes into the decision before buying a bike but at my age the smoothness is top of the list. Ive been riding since 1973 and comfort is very important. So has anybody had the opportunity to ride the roadmaster? Thank you Mike.

·
Registered
'18 SVTC
1,048 Posts
We share some similar experiences. I had a 07 Nomad for 11 years and put 80,000+ miles on it. As a retirement gift to myself in 2017 I rented a 2015 Roadmaster and the wife and I did a 3 day guided tour in Mississippi and Louisiana. We were both impressed by the creature comforts, ride and performance of the Indian. After that tour I was informed that any replacement for the Nomad had to have a pillion seat as good as the Roadmaster. We were in the market for a new ride in 2019 and she sat on the Voyager pillion and said "no". She sat on the SVTC and we now own it.