Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
936 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just finished registering for the BRC (Basic Rider Course)at my local community college for a whopping ONE HUNDRED THIRTY FIVE dollars. ( It is sponsored by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation)

I have been riding on and off for 30+ years. I have two reason for taking this course. 1) I can get my state M endorsement w/o having to go to the DMV and take their test. 2) I am most definitely sure I will learn a new "trick" to to help keep myself safe on the roads.

I will take the Experienced Rider Course (ERC) next year.

How many of you have taken the BRC or ERC? What is one of the things that has always stuck with you from it?

·
Registered
5,380 Posts
I got my first MC when I was 19, rode it on the streets and in the 'swamps' of florida for 2 years.
then I got an enduro bike that I had for 30 years, riding only off road on forest trails.

I took the MSF BRC when I was 55, for the same reason, to get my license before I had a street bike to ride.

I thought it would be a formality, since I had been riding for over 40 years.

Instead I was amazed at how many things I did not know, and how many things I was doing wrong.

You got a good deal, it cost me $250 in NYS, and it paid for itself the first time I did not crash my bike, and many times since when I did not crash my bike, thanks to the things I learned in those 3 days.

Have fun, be humble, and Kudos for signing up!

PS: 5 years since the BRC, no dints in my bike.

·
Registered
1,309 Posts