Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
346 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Today while on my way to work a Police officer on a BMW bike pulled in front of me while I was splitting and I followed him for about 20 miles.

I have been splitting for 5 years now every day and while I have had a few close calls, I have found that splitting on the freeway is very safe and all my close calls were from me going to fast. I probably still go a little too fast, but this video just shows exactly how safe lane splitting should be done.

This video is very boring because no danger or high speed is involved.

https://youtu.be/68icRI4JFdk

·
Super Moderator
6,765 Posts
Drivers out west are familiar with lane splitting since its legal for Police and civilian bikers. With the volume of traffic I see where it's helpful. Back here, drivers don't know what turn signals are used for, too busy smacking their misbehaving kids in their SUVs, and talking/texting to make it safe to lane split. Anytime I go home to SoCal, I cringe when I see a fellow biker lane splitting since I know what would happen locally.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
346 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Drivers out west are familiar with lane splitting since its legal for Police and civilian bikers. With the volume of traffic I see where it's helpful. Back here, drivers don't know what turn signals are used for, too busy smacking their misbehaving kids in their SUVs, and talking/texting to make it safe to lane split. Anytime I go home to SoCal, I cringe when I see a fellow biker lane splitting since I know what would happen locally.

Honestly no matter where you go in this country the majority of drivers are good drivers, there are really only a few bad drivers on the road. I honestly think if lane splitting was made legal in the other 49 drivers would adapt in time. It works in the rest of the world.

·
Super Moderator
6,765 Posts