Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Super Moderator
13,185 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so i'm re-examining my whole philosophy on leans in turns and curves. i want to start over from scratch. the way i've always felt and was taught was that you move the motorcycle underneath you, not your body. which i still believe is mostly true for cruiser motorcycles, but there's some area for body lean, and that's what i want to re-discover. so how much body lean do you guys use? how much do you increase your body lean with tighter curves or higher speeds? do you even think about it?

·
Super Moderator
6,230 Posts
I started learning about leaning/turning intially from riding dirt bikes as a kid. A few months ago a member made reference to David Houghs books entitled 'Proficient Motorcycling'. I've read the first one and half of volume #2. I highly recommend both as they will help in leaning and turning. Helped me a lot, especially in learning to use the front brakes more efficiently. Just my input.

·
Banned
292 Posts
Your body should actually be on the inside of the bike while cornering. The result is that you are leaning more than the bike. Dragging pegs and what not is a result of poor riding. Your bike actually has maximum traction and control at the least lean angle. It really doesn't matter if it's a sportbike or cruiser. Support yourself with your knees. Find a class like Total Control.

·
Premium Member
139 Posts
I scrape constantly. CONSTANTLY. But all we have here in AR are windy hilly two lane wooden highways. Floorboard pads, the brackets themselves when the floorboard is fully pivoted up, and even the crash bars.

When turning hard,and on this bike doing 60 in a sugested 30 around a good curve, I just push the inside handle forward, and push the bike down hard, and tell the bike "lean Bitch!" :grin: So I guess mostly, I don't do much with the body.