Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,052 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So in conversation with my son we were talking about a racing video we had watched and a crash that happened when this guy high sided
in a High speed turn exit .

We kind of wondered how do these racers train to crash or lay a bike down other than the obvious.

It's not like you can just go test theory out.

I've been riding bikes for nearly 40 years and never had to lay one down. Not sure I would know what to do...

so how do you learn this skill ? Trial and error ?
BAD NEWS.... :surprise:

·
Premium Member
1,052 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
True but there are situations where you would want to lay the bike down and slide off (push off) from it.

This is not a natural reaction. You have to be thinking ahead to be able to execute this reaction in mere
milliseconds.

If a large truck pulls out in front of you from a side street you do not want to take your head off going under the trailer
or the truck frame. You would want to drop it on it's side and slide under.

Being brakes and tires on bikes are better than ever in most cases we do not have to resort to these moves.
Still how do they learn how to do it. Wreck a bunch of bikes ?

·
Premium Member
1,052 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Regardless of the nevers, it could be that you life could be spared . Yes road rash would be a bitch, but alive
to tell about it. Those racers are not driving in traffic, They are running full out and crashes happen. Sometimes
very ugly and sometimes not so much.

But information lives out there that explains this action of properly laying it down.

What got us was how the hell would you practice or train for this. Maybe crash footage where the instructor
says (Now see that guy going down his with leg is under the bike Don't do this )...

Tank slappers also get things out of whack in a big hurry and can put you down.
Eating asphalt does not taste good...

·
Premium Member
1,052 Posts