Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I'm new to riding, and have none of the "cold weather" gear I'll need to keep riding through winter here in the Washington DC area. However, I do commute by bicycle all year long, so I know that good gear is crucial to a successful ride.

I'm looking for suggestions. What must I have, on my limited budget for this type of thing, and what can I do without? In particular, I'm wondering about all of this electric clothing I keep hearing about.

On the bicycle, layering seems to work just fine. I imagine at the higher speeds associated with motorcycles windproof becomes more important?

Tell me what works best for you, and what kind of temps/weather conditions you deal with where you live.

Thanks!

P

·
Registered
1,620 Posts
If you're on a tight budget don't be looking at the electric heated stuff :) I've got a good pair of winter gloves that work great without heating elements. You will want some chaps for sure.

·
Registered
923 Posts
I personally have a LOT of insulation so I usually just layer and get a good pair of gloves. It also depends on whether you ride full face helmet or half helmet because then you'll want something to cover your face/neck/ears.

·
Banned
4,088 Posts
With temps in the mid to low 30's a good pair of winter gloves will get you about 10 miles before your fingers start screaming. 'lectric heated gloves are worth evry single penny.

Full face helmets are your absolute best choice.

If I had to pick one of the above it would have to be the helmet with the electric gloves :D

·
Registered
108 Posts
With temps in the mid to low 30's a good pair of winter gloves will get you about 10 miles before your fingers start screaming. 'lectric heated gloves are worth evry single penny.

Full face helmets are your absolute best choice.

If I had to pick one of the above it would have to be the helmet with the electric gloves :D
Yea, last year I used: