Yamaha Starbike Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm looking at a 99 V-Star Classic, with under 5800 miles. I've been looking for a while, and the asking price on this is bike is pretty good. Can I assume that not many changes have been made to the bikes over the years. Yes, I understand its 10 years old. My concern is what items should I be looking for to see if the bike has been maintained.

A little background on me... I've been riding off-road for over 35 years. I'm looking for a bike to get me to and from work, and a little 2 up cruising with the wife from time to time.

Are there any issues I should be concerned about, example electrical problems, or engine issues, etc. Or are the 1100's as reliable as I would expect a Yamaha to be?

Thanks for you help, I appreciate it.

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I went to look at the bike Sunday. Lets say the representation was off a little bit. I was told it was a 99 V-Star 1100. when I looked at it I got the feeling something wasn't quite right. I asked to see the title. The bike was a 98 650. The mileage of the title was about 800 more than what was one the bike. The seller stated the speedo gear was making a noise, so he replaced the entire speedo.

So lets recap.... incorrect year.... incorrect displacement.... tampered mileage.... The mileage didn't bother me too much, the main issue I had is I drove 90 minutes(each way) to see the bike. Had the seller been honest, he would have saved us lost time, as I would had not made the trip to see the bike. I did test ride the bike, all was fine, but, its just not quite what I'm looking for.

So the search continues.

·
Registered
27 Posts