Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got home from a one-month vacation, during which my motorcycle was sitting idle in an outdoor parking spot (under a bike cover). The temperatures have been going as low as 30 degrees Fahrenheit at night.

I tried starting the bike with the choke fully out, but it won't start. I've tried it a number of times now and am a little worried that I might completely drain the battery.

I REALLY want to ride tomorrow before the work week begins, a month is a long time to be away from the road :)

Please help. How can I get my bike started?

FYI, I have very little experience in motorcycle maintenance. Trying to remedy the situation.

·
Registered
47 Posts
I just got home from a one-month vacation, during which my motorcycle was sitting idle in an outdoor parking spot (under a bike cover). The temperatures have been going as low as 30 degrees Fahrenheit at night.

I tried starting the bike with the choke fully out, but it won't start. I've tried it a number of times now and am a little worried that I might completely drain the battery.

I REALLY want to ride tomorrow before the work week begins, a month is a long time to be away from the road :)

Please help. How can I get my bike started?

FYI, I have very little experience in motorcycle maintenance. Trying to remedy the situation.
A couple thoughts for ya,
Wait for the day to warm up sum since it's outside.
Cold air is dense so the mixture is already rich so try several attempts with little or no choke.
Also don't over do it, give time for the starter motor to cool a little between attempts.
Pull a spark plug out and check it's condition and color, if it's black or wet then the fuel mixture is too rich.

I'm sure others will chime in. I had a 2001 Classic, great bike!

·
Registered
2,181 Posts
It might help if we know what kind of bike you had?